Problem with text boxes on QOL

The place to report problems, or give feedback about this message board or the entire Queenonline site.

Problem with text boxes on QOL

Postby fairydandy » Fri Jul 10, 2009 9:18 am

Yo
There seems to be a problem when submitting a reply to a thread. The line that you are typing disappears from view in the text box and the whole operation then becomes 'unstable' with the text box moving up and down etc.

Don't know if happens on replies that are only a few lines, but it happens if you reply to a quote and you need to go outside of the box...if that makes any sense.
User avatar
fairydandy
Don't Stop Me Now
Don't Stop Me Now
 
Posts: 4245
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:02 am

Re: Problem with text boxes on QOL

Postby Ice On Fire » Fri Jul 10, 2009 10:25 am

:yu: I noticed the same thing last night while using PM's(but thought it was because I am currently using a laptop).
Times have changed and times are strange
Here I come but I ain't the same
User avatar
Ice On Fire
I Want To Break Free
I Want To Break Free
 
Posts: 10241
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:51 am
Location: The one where you will be the first to forget and you will be the last to remember

Re: Problem with text boxes on QOL

Postby fairydandy » Fri Jul 10, 2009 4:35 pm

Ice On Fire wrote::yu: I noticed the same thing last night while using PM's(but thought it was because I am currently using a laptop).


I was wondering if it was just me! I expect admin will sort it. :roll: :P
User avatar
fairydandy
Don't Stop Me Now
Don't Stop Me Now
 
Posts: 4245
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:02 am

Re: Problem with text boxes on QOL

Postby Broooklyn » Fri Jul 10, 2009 4:46 pm

Yo, yo! Word up on this problem. I have experienced this when rapping replies at my crib as well, and it is quite annoying son. When I know I am going to rap a lengthy rap, I now do so via MS word....worrrd up son.... because otherwise, like dandy G said, the box becomes far too unstable to continue rapping once the rhymes gets to a certain point!
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Broooklyn
Somebody To Love
Somebody To Love
 
Posts: 6684
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: When somethin'z broke...I wanna put a bit'a fixin' on it!

Re: Problem with text boxes on QOL

Postby Innuendoes » Fri Jul 10, 2009 11:44 pm

fairydandy wrote:
Ice On Fire wrote::yu: I noticed the same thing last night while using PM's(but thought it was because I am currently using a laptop).


I was wondering if it was just me! I expect admin will sort it. :roll: :P

Laptops have nothing to do with it. Like Broooklyn says, use Word or actually, Notepad is better. That's what BestBuy's dot com employees are supposed to use because it will be the last thing to go down if the program closes on you. It's also just plain easier with a long post to do it that way.
"Spread the word and try to teach the man
Who is hating his brother,
When hate won’t do,
‘cuz we’re all the same,
yes the blood inside of me is inside of you"
User avatar
Innuendoes
We Are The Champions
We Are The Champions
 
Posts: 21640
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 1:09 pm
Location: Who's bad?

Re: Problem with text boxes on QOL

Postby Ice On Fire » Sat Jul 11, 2009 4:12 am

Innuendoes wrote:
fairydandy wrote:
Ice On Fire wrote::yu: I noticed the same thing last night while using PM's(but thought it was because I am currently using a laptop).


I was wondering if it was just me! I expect admin will sort it. :roll: :P

Laptops have nothing to do with it. Like Broooklyn says, use Word or actually, Notepad is better. That's what BestBuy's dot com employees are supposed to use because it will be the last thing to go down if the program closes on you. It's also just plain easier with a long post to do it that way.

Ah thanks Inny and Broooklyn. Will do that once I have my usual computer running again.
Times have changed and times are strange
Here I come but I ain't the same
User avatar
Ice On Fire
I Want To Break Free
I Want To Break Free
 
Posts: 10241
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:51 am
Location: The one where you will be the first to forget and you will be the last to remember

Re: Problem with text boxes on QOL

Postby 'Bea' » Sat Jul 11, 2009 7:43 am

Ah Ha..........that's what happened to me...........just before my computer broke... :shock: Aaaaah panic all of you.
Image


There's no bad day that can't be overcome by listening to some good music.
User avatar
'Bea'
The Show Must Go On
The Show Must Go On
 
Posts: 1522
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 4:22 pm
Location: Scouseport

Re: Problem with text boxes on QOL

Postby WeeMann » Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:23 am

I've been trying and trying, but can't get this fault to occur. Dunno if Ian's seen this thread yet, but I'll PM him just in case.
If Simon Mann did not exist, you would have to make him up The Times - Tues 17 Jun, 2008
User avatar
WeeMann
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Fri May 14, 2004 11:42 pm
Location: One of The Usual Suspects.

Re: Problem with text boxes on QOL

Postby Ice On Fire » Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:47 am

WeeMann wrote:I've been trying and trying, but can't get this fault to occur. Dunno if Ian's seen this thread yet, but I'll PM him just in case.
Lucky you. I first noticed it while using PM,s that is where I do most of my posting these days anyway.
Times have changed and times are strange
Here I come but I ain't the same
User avatar
Ice On Fire
I Want To Break Free
I Want To Break Free
 
Posts: 10241
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:51 am
Location: The one where you will be the first to forget and you will be the last to remember

Re: Problem with text boxes on QOL

Postby Champs » Sat Jul 11, 2009 12:21 pm

Same was happening to me the other night. Ruddy text was all over the place.
Double Q calling secret squirrel, over.
User avatar
Champs
Somebody To Love
Somebody To Love
 
Posts: 5332
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 2:27 pm
Location: Who wants to BE called Champs forever?

Re: Problem with text boxes on QOL

Postby Silver Rocker » Sat Jul 11, 2009 12:27 pm

Me, too.
User avatar
Silver Rocker
Don't Stop Me Now
Don't Stop Me Now
 
Posts: 4044
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:30 am
Location: Shunning the resident drama queens...

Re: Problem with text boxes on QOL

Postby bhm0129ad » Sat Jul 11, 2009 12:44 pm

I began having this issue when I downloaded IE8, and found at first that I had to keep clicking on 'compatability view' for it to temporarily stop.
I got so fed up with it, in the end I decided to download Opera and now use that instead as it never happens anymore.
User avatar
bhm0129ad
Don't Stop Me Now
Don't Stop Me Now
 
Posts: 3907
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 12:22 pm

Re: Problem with text boxes on QOL

Postby WeeMann » Sat Jul 11, 2009 1:34 pm

Happening to me now :(

Using Google Chrome on the laptop. Took me about half a dozen attempts to make this post.
If Simon Mann did not exist, you would have to make him up The Times - Tues 17 Jun, 2008
User avatar
WeeMann
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Fri May 14, 2004 11:42 pm
Location: One of The Usual Suspects.

Re: Problem with text boxes on QOL

Postby Ian-Highlander » Sat Jul 11, 2009 1:48 pm

It's a known compatibility issue with IE8.

I'm looking to see if there's anything I can do with the limited access I have. I should be able to force the forum to display in compatibility mode every time to IE8 users with a small bit of code. Leave it with me.
User avatar
Ian-Highlander
There Can Be Only One
There Can Be Only One
 
Posts: 4393
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 7:31 pm
Location: Raising Money For "Make-A-Wish Foundation" On http://www.gcrpeople.com

Re: Problem with text boxes on QOL

Postby Ian-Highlander » Sat Jul 11, 2009 1:56 pm

I've added a line of code to the headers for both templates that "should" force the forums into compatibility mode automatically for anyone using IE8.

Let me know if that helps. :)
User avatar
Ian-Highlander
There Can Be Only One
There Can Be Only One
 
Posts: 4393
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 7:31 pm
Location: Raising Money For "Make-A-Wish Foundation" On http://www.gcrpeople.com

Next

Return to QUEENONLINE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron